top of page

EGJ Essay #4

A year ago when I was in 7th grade, my science teacher suggested 7 people including me to work on a project related to the unit our class was working on. The unit was on our body and more specifically the reproductive system. My group and I spent 2 science classes thinking about ways we could improve the school using the knowledge we had gained during our classes. We ended up wanting to change the school itself by talking to principals about adding sanitary products in the girls and unisex bathrooms.

To be able to accomplish this goal we had to work on a few things. This included setting up a meeting with the 5 principals of our school, making posters to raise awareness about the issue, creating a speech about the reasons for our request, and more. We had about 3 meetings before the principals decided that they could help us add sanitary products in the bathrooms. Even though right now after a few months we are still at the stage of trying things out and collecting data, my group and I think that we were able to make progress within the whole school. (By Yuuka Ogawa, EGJ member, 2021.10.02)



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page